Excuses

If you are looking for a good one, pregnancy should do the trick. As if I wasn’t getting fat and lazy enough already, the doctor just told me I need to take things easier. And here I thought I was going to be one of those fit pregnant people that ate just as good as when marathon training, and go for a 3 mile run the day labor began. So much for those dreams.

I spent the afternoon in labor and delivery because I was so swollen yesterday that I ripped the thigh of my pants when I sat down at work. Not the inside part that often gets torn up from thighs rubbing together, the outside stitching about halfway down the thigh. Busted right through my maternity pants. One of the three pair that still fit (or so I thought!).

After I got home, I realized that I hardly felt the baby move all day. She’s normally doing Tae Bo or something in there, so it was odd that I didn’t feel much of anything all day. I poked and pushed at her and got no response. I woke up in the middle of the night and didn’t feel her kicking. Really abnormal. I didn’t feel her much this morning either. Called the doctor, and she told me to go to labor and delivery for a non stress test and an ultrasound.

Thank the Lord that everything came back great. Her heart rate is strong and she’s moving like crazy. I’m not sure why I don’t feel her as strongly as I did just a few days ago but she’s just fine.

She had been diagnosed with cleft lip (and probably palate) at our 20 week ultrasound, and I got to see her lip again today. The cleft is very small, the two sides of the cleft are actually almost touching. Sadly, this means nothing for the outcome of the palate, but we’re still praying that it won’t be involved at all – and that the lip would be fully healed before birth too!

Lots of good news.

And then there’s the baby’s weight. They estimate her to be measuring about 3-6 days ahead and she’s about 4 lbs, 11 oz already putting her a little above average, in the 54 percentile. Since I don’t care to deliver a 9lb baby, the nurse said I really need to watch what I eat. Drastically reduce my sugar intake (wah!), watch my sodium (will help with swelling – although I don’t eat much salt to begin with), and focus on veggie and fruits (natural diuretics) and lean protein.

So my husband is going to help keep me accountable on the sugary stuff, and I’m hoping that I can stay on track with balanced meals, and just cooking for myself in general, by going public with it here. I have made pregnancy an excuse not to keep up with my healthy diet, so it ends today!

Speaking of, I’ve got a Latin Beef Stew in the crock pot that smells amazing. Almost dinner time now, I’ll have to let you know how it turns out!

Leave a Reply

