Zombie Blog

I’m resurrecting my blog. It’s been at least a year! And a crazy one!

I ran the Chicago Marathon. It was awful and wonderful and I’m sure I’ll do it again someday. It took me just over 6 hours to finish because I lost steam after I used the bathroom at mile12. Everything from my hips down cramped up. I stood on a street corner crying to my husband for at least 15 minutes around mile 16. I struggled through the rest of the race but finished!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I was really disappointed in myself and frustrated by my performance. My training had gone really well and a few weeks before the marathon, I completed my 20 mile run in about 4 hours, 20 minutes. And I felt great after that, and knew I could have pushed my pace more (I sprinted the last quarter of a mile!). Two days later, everything made sense.

I found out I was pregnant!

2014-11-27 12.14.00

Now granted, I was only 3 weeks along, and the embryo would have just been embedding itself, but I think that the hormone shift and the change in blood flow really messed up my running ability!

I’ve been sporadically running since I found out I was pregnant – anywhere from 1-5 miles 1-3 days a week. I always thought I’d be a fit pregnant woman, but morning sickness did me in. For over 3 months all I could stomach was potatoes, chicken, bread, cheese, and bananas. I only threw up once, but I had severe nausea 24/7.I tried to keep running, but I was exhausted. I probably ran once every week or two.

Once I got to 21 weeks (6 months) along, I started to feel better and went back to my normal diet – lots of fruits and veggies, lean meat, some good carbs. I tried to get back into running, but it was February and I live near Chicago. It was freezing cold and just happened to be the 3rd snowiest February in Chicago’s history. Not ideal conditions for running 6 months pregnant!

An easy 3 miles on vacation in Florida around 22. A glorious, sunshiney day!

An easy 3 miles on vacation in Florida around 22. A glorious, sunshiney day!

Today, I’m 8 months along. As happy as I am just to be pregnant, and that I’m only 8 weeks away from meeting our little girl, I have to say that I really dislike being pregnant. I’m used to being self sufficient and independent. Pregnant, I feel weak and out of control. I can no longer handle normal physical demands. Like yanking sleeping 4 year olds off their cots after rest time at work. Like painting shelving in the baby’s closet. Like walking or running (although I still try!). I basically don’t have an immune system. I’ve been sick 4 times in the last 6 months. Two bad colds and two different variations of the flu. My allergies are going crazy now and I can’t take anything for them! I toss and turn all night an can’t remember the last time I woke up in the morning feeling rested. I can’t stand the smell of garlic or onions so eating normal foods is a huge issue. Simply put, the end of June can’t come fast enough.

From our shower this past weekend. It's a girl!

From our shower this past weekend. It’s a girl!

I needed to get that out there. And that’s why I’ve brought 35workouts back to life. I need a place to process. And hopefully, in a couple months, I’ll be back to working out and cooking great meals. Feel free to follow along or ignore my rantings completely, it’s up to you, but I”m interested to see where I end up!

Leave a Reply

