Giving In

I cannot seem to catch a break (story of my life). First, I was sick with a nasty cold/flu type thing, then just when I started getting over that, I discovered I have an abscessed root canal. I’m not sure exactly what that means, but it’s some sort of tooth infection on a tooth that has previously had a root canal. And it hurts more than anything else I’ve experienced. I’m talking wake up crying, pain killers don’t even help, would rather be dead kind of pain. It’s worse than when my wisdom tooth got infected last year. (I do take care of my teeth, really I do.)  I’ve been on antibiotics since I saw the dentist Thursday, but I’ve still had a lump the size of a golf ball in my right cheek all weekend. I have to see an endodontist, but I couldn’t get in to see one until Monday morning, so I’ve been miserable all weekend. Oh, plus, I lost my voice Thursday and I still don’t totally have it back. So I can’t talk or move the right half of my face. It’s been real interesting.

Needless to say, I didn’t stick with my detox diet the whole way through. After a night of no sleep and severe pain Thursday night, and then having to go to work Friday, I just gave in. I couldn’t do it anymore. The house was (and still is) a mess, I was exhausted, and my body was saying “STOP”. So I listened. I spent all of Friday night, Saturday, and a good chunk of the day today in my spot on the couch. I got pizza for dinner Friday night. (After a torn up stomach due to too many ibuprofen, it was all that sounded good) made some taco meat and had nachos Saturday night, and picked up Potbelly’s sandwiches for dinner today. I’ve also had way more Junior Mints than I should have. I’m just babying myself now. Tomorrow, I get my tooth taken care of and probably won’t be able too eat anything but smoothies, mashed potatoes, and yogurt for a day or two so I’m enjoying a couple days of indulgence.

So this detox diet… I basically put it on hold. I didn’t have the energy to take a shower let alone cooking healthy and cleaning up the kitchen after. I will return to it though. I did lose 4 lbs. And I am able to fit into my skinny jeans again. But since I was sick the first half of the week, and then had the abscessed tooth the second half, I never got to tell if I felt any different. I want to know if I feel better eating mostly produce, and if it makes a difference in my running and working out. I haven’t even worked out in over a week!

Tomorrow morning, I go to the endodontist and he’ll fix whatever’s wrong with my infected roots and if he can’t fix it, then the tooth will get pulled. Either way, I’m still looking at a couple days of recovery time at least. I’m still very swollen and have antibiotics to take through Wednesday. So this week, I’m just going to focus on eating simply and healthily, limiting my sugar, and watching my portions. I’m not going to worry too much about working out yet, but if I can even get a few walks in, that’d be great. (Increased heart rate = greater tooth pain, or so I’ve learned.) Next week, I’m hoping to give the detox thing another try. I really did enjoy it the first few days despite being sick. I’m hopeful that if I could do it for at least a week, it’d be a great jump start to my summer marathon training.

If you think of it, say a little prayer tomorrow for me. I had a bad experience with my wisdom tooth last year (infection, dry socket) and I’m nervous about going in for my tooth in the morning. It’s been a long week of physical pain and dreading the possibility of complications. Thanks friends.

Leave a Reply

