Detox Day 2 + Dessert!

Things are getting interesting. I’m feeling a lot better than I was yesterday, so that’s a plus. I got about 10 hours of sleep last night which helps! I’m still not feeling quite well enough to workout though. I’m hoping tomorrow evening I’ll be up for a run. Unfortunately, I am fiercely craving chocolate today and I’m well enough to get off the couch and get it. I won’t, but feeling better makes it easier to think about. This detox diet I’m sticking to has been a lot easier than I thought it would be. Beside the chocolate cravings, I’ve felt very satisfied and enjoyed what I’ve eaten. Today, I had almost the same foods that I had yesterday:

20140429_103626

Wow, weird lighting thing going on… Sorry about that. You get the gist.

Salad, peppers and hummus, a Larabar, and almonds to bring to work. And I made another smoothie this morning. This one was a green peach smoothie with ground up cashews, Bolthouse Farms’ Green Goodness juice, a frozen banana, and frozen peaches. I ended up putting in too many peaches and had to add more juice so it was a 20 oz smoothie instead of a 16oz. I ended up being so full from my late breakfast that I never ate the pepper and hummus, almonds, or Larabar I packed! Dinner was another baked red potato with refried beans, cumin, and guac. It was so good last night  I had to have it again!

Since I skipped my snacks and had an early dinner, I made myself a good, filling dessert. Yes, I had dessert during my detox! I found this recipe online and modified it to work within my diet. Here’s my modified recipe:

Baked Apple Detox Dessert

Ingredients:
1 tbsp coconut oil
2 small apples, sliced (I used Fuji)
1/2 cup no sugar added applesauce
1 tbsp real vanilla extract
1 tbsp cinnamon
1/3 cup chopped nuts (I used a combination of peanuts, walnuts, and cashews)

20140429_193039

1. Melt coconut oil in medium sauce pan over medium low heat. Add apples and stir to coat apples in oil.
2. Add apple sauce, vanilla, and cinnamon and mix together. 
3. Simmer, stirring frequently for about 10 minutes or until apples are soft.
4. Remove from heat and mix in nuts. 

20140429_193238

This made 2 servings (275 calories each in case you’re counting). I had initially thought I’d want to eat the whole pot when I saw how small my serving would be, but I was stuffed after eating just half of this recipe. I’m learning that I eat a whole lot less when I’m not consuming empty calories!

20140429_194741

Like I said before, this detox thing really isn’t so bad. I’ve had to be a little creative, but everything I’m eating tastes so good. There are a lot of things I was planning to make and still haven’t (like veggie chilli and southwest stir fry). I might actually keep this going all week! We’ll see how tomorrow goes.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

