Detox.

I’m detoxing this week. I’ve been eating so much junk that I’m actually looking forward to eating veggies! I’m not a huge fan of the typical detox diet. You know, the kind where you only drink juice for a month, eat only fruit for a week, or take some sort of supplement to flush out your liver or colon or whatever organ seems to be clogged up with toxins? I just think that all sounds ridiculous. The human body is designed to detox itself as long as you feed it properly. (Obviously, there can be some medical conditions and circumstances in which this isn’t true, but it’s generally the case for most healthy bodies.) I just want to get back to the basics and set myself up for a season of healthy eating. So I’m not really detoxing as much as I’m cleansing. Cleansing my palette, my mind, and also my body.

The fridge and freezer are all stocked with fresh produce!

The fridge and freezer are all stocked with fresh produce!

Pantry cabinet with tons of canned beans and tomatoes, whole wheat pastas, nuts, and Larabars (in the green basket).

Pantry cabinet with tons of canned beans and tomatoes, whole wheat pastas, nuts, and Larabars (in the green basket).

If you follow this bog at all, you’re probably wondering why I’m starting a new challenge when I haven’t been able to finish any of the other plans I’ve made. Well, after a few failures (a la 35 workouts, and 10 in 10), I’ve done some thinking (and some blogging) about my issue with binge eating. I know there’s no way I’m ever going to be able to accomplish my fitness goals when I eat the way I do. There are other reasons too, that have all pointed me in the direction of this 7 day detox (I’m still going to call it that, because “cleanse” sounds kinda gross):

  • The binge eating thing.
  • My ADD has gotten really bad lately.
  • I haven’t been sleeping well and my energy levels have been low.
  • My acne-prone skin was looking really nice, but in the past 3 weeks has broken out a ton.
  • I’d rather spend my money on cute summer clothes than on snacks and candy.

One week seems manageable to me – even my husband said he’s going to try to do a modified detox with me! To keep things as reasonable as possible, I’ve broken it up into 2 phases:

Phase 1

  • 3 days
  • Unlimited fruits, veggies, beans, nuts, oils and seasonings
  • No meat, dairy, grains, or added sugar

Phase 2

  • 4 days
  • Unlimited fruits, veggies, beans, and seasonings
  • Meat, dairy, grains, nuts and oils in moderation (about 2 servings per day of each)
  • No added sugar

After the full 7 days is up, I hope to keep up with phase-2-type-eating but add in a little bit of sugar. I’ll probably allow myself 100 calories or so a day of chocolate, alcohol, or other sweets each day. I figure I can save up those calories if I choose too. Sometimes we go out for dessert, bake cookies, sneak candy into the movie theater, or get drinks on the weekends. I’m not going to cut all of that out of my life! I know I don’t need to enjoy those luxuries every evening.

I’m planning on posting every evening with what I eat each day if you’re at all interested in what meals look like without meat, dairy, grains, or sugar. Oh! And I’m also not going to be eating any heavily processed foods. I found some organic, no sugar added, no weird ingredient salad dressings and I plan to continue having Larabars as a snack. A lot of their flavors have no sugar added and are actually 5 ingredients or less. Another note I should make, I don’t normally drink anything but water, but if I was a coffee or tea drinker I’d cut out caffeine in phase 1, and then limit my caffeine in phase 2 to one cup a day of coffee or caffeinated tea. In case you’re wanting to try a similar plan and you are a caffeine drinker. (Please keep in mind that I’m no nutrition expert though. If you’re going to try this, check with your doctor or a nutritionist first!) 

Really, I think this will be a successful challenge. I hope you’ll stick around to see how it goes. I’m sure I’ll need support to stick it out.

Have you ever tried a detox diet? What was it and how did it turn out?

 

(Sorry for the crummy pictures. Phone was more convenient than the DSLR…)

5 comments

Leave a Reply

