Creamy Avocado Black Olive Quesadilla

Wow. I don’t even know where to begin. So much has happened since the last time I posted.  All good things, promise. I owe you a vacation update, but there are a few, more important, matters to mention first. Namely, interviews and quesadillas. While I was packing last Friday for vacation, I received a phone call from a potential employer about setting up an interview. Great timing right? So I gave them my first available time after we got home which was 9am today. No way better to dive back into the real world (and frigid temperatures) than to go on a job interview (in 2 degree weather) 18 hours post-vacation! I think the interview went well, not my dream job but I think it’s something I’d enjoy. So we’ll see what happens.

On to quesadillas. After watching my cutie patootie niece all afternoon, I was a little to tired to get groceries. I’m still running on a lack of sleep from our trip (more on that later) and there is hardly any food in the house. So quesadillas it was! Disclaimer – these are absolutely not healthy. They just taste really good. Calorie -wise you’re looking at about 735 calories for the whole thing including plain Greek yogurt for dipping. Yikes! Should I also mention that I used lots of cheese and generic flour tortillas. All kinds of “poison” here folks. Ocassionally and indulgent meal isn’t a diet breaker. With all that said, if you’d like to make this on your own…

IMG_0379

Yes, I did eat most of this before I thought to take a picture…

Ingredients:

2 10″ burrito sized tortillas

Neufchatel cheese (if anyone knows how to pronounce this, do share.)

1/4 cup shredded Queso Quesadilla cheese (I used Kraft brand but any shredded Mexican cheese would work)

1/2 Avocado, cubed

2 TBSP sliced black olives

1 tsp cumin

1/2 tsp oregano

1/2 tsp crushed red pepper

1/2 tsp garlic powder

1/4 tsp salt

1/4 tsp black pepper

olive oil spray

1/4 cup plain Greek yogurt

1 tsp hot taco sauce

Putting It Together:

  • Spread Neufachatel cheese on one tortilla. Top with shredded quesadilla cheese.
  • Add cubed avocado and black olives.
  • Sprinkle cumin, oregano, garlic powder, crushed red pepper, salt, and pepper over entire tortilla.
  • Heat a medium or large skillet over medium low heat and spray with olive oil spray.
  • When olive oil begins to sizzle, add tortilla with cheese, avocado, black olive, and seasonings on it to the skillet filling side up.
  • Place the second tortillas on top and lightly press down.
  • Cook for a few minutes, pressing top tortilla shell down until cheese begins to melt.
  • In the meantime mix Greek yogurt and taco sauce together in a small bowl.
  • Flip the quesadilla (I used tongs and a spatula for support) and let the other side cook for another minute or two.
  • Transfer to a plate and cut into triangles with a sharp knife.
  • Top with Greek yogurt taco sauce and serve warm.

Pretty simple, and really yummy. How do you fill your quesadillas?

Leave a Reply

