44/Meal Plan + A New Plan

Today’s post is going to be sort of “Choose Your Own Adventure” style. (I used to love those books as a kid!). If you’d like the long story with special announcement, and a little bit of dreaming about the future, continue reading from here. If you just came by to see what I’m cooking this week and how the week leading up to vacation is shaping up, then skip down a bit to “This Week”. Thanks for stopping by!

 

It has been quite the whirlwind of a week. I began the week, just as exhausted as the week previous. I knew I should have been working out but I chose not to day after day. Part of the trouble was that I may have chipped a chuck of a molar off last Saturday while eating candy. I had to leave work early Monday to go to and emergency dentist where I was luckily able to just get it filled – no crown needed! Whew!

 

But also on Monday, I got an email from my boss requesting a write up of our daily job responsibilities with step-by-step directions on how to do everything we do all day. Um… what? I spent the rest of the week working late to make up for leaving early on Monday and typing up an 18 page “job description” while trying to stay on top of my actual job in order to not get fired. Yes, that is a realistic possibility. Someone in my 30 person office gets fired or quits every 2-3 weeks. I’ve been on the chopping block twice now (for forgetting to make two phone calls and for not magically knowing how to do something I was never trained to do) so one more instance and I know I’m gone. We can’t really afford for me to not have a job, so I’ve been working my butt off and stressing out like crazy instead of working out and eating well.

This blog is about health right? Mental health even? I hope you all can understand – I had a meltdown. Like crying while driving to work Friday because I didn’t want to go to work. Because I have had no energy to take care of myself. Because I didn’t know how  much longer I could really live in the fear of being fired everyday. Because my boss is verbally abusive (to anyone who doesn’t give him his way) and I just can’t have those words floating around in my head all the time.

 

So this amazing thing happened in the midst of my anxiety. My husband stepped in and saved the day. He’s taking on an extra part time job to take the pressure off my work situation. Now before you go feeling all bad for him, let me clarify that his current job is full time, but less than 40 hours a week. His new job will be a few nights a week and an occasional weekend and it’s for a company he LOVES. Neither job will be incredibly demanding or stressful and he’s so perfectly suited for both positions.

 

I’m going to continue working full time as long as I can handle it, knowing that I can walk away from my stressful, wearing job whenever I want to. I’m currently searching for a part time job (or two) that I know I’ll like. I really don’t want to work more than 30 hours a week (or 4 days) because I’ll be spending the other 10 or so hours a week taking care of literally everything in our home for us. That means I’ll no longer have a grocery shopping buddy, a sous chef, or a honey-do list. Once I make the shift to part time I’ll be responsible for all of the shopping, cooking, cleaning (including his laundry that he’s been doing himself since we got married), finances, and errand running. And I. Can’t Wait!

 

I’m really hoping that a switch to part time may also mean a little more time spent writing this blog. I have a whole list (Secret confession – I love lists!) of ideas that I’d like to share. Some educational, some experimental, lots more of the current format (daily healthy living), and I have a few fun surprises up my sleeve.

 

This week:

 

It’s vacation week! We are now just 5 sleeps away from our San Diego trip. Sidenote: I read somewhere that you aren’t supposed to tell people on the internet when you’re going to be gone on vacation because they might take all of you earthly possessions from your house. But I guarantee you that either the friend staying at our place will kick your butt or our attack cat will claw your eyes out if you try to break in while we’re gone. Moving on… I am desperately excited for our trip. I’ve been obsessively checking the weather and everytime I’m on the Weather Channel or Accuweather app, the forecast looks better and better. Right now we’re looking at 72 and a 0% chance of rain all three days!

 

I’m a little bummed that I haven’t been working a little harder toward my weight loss goal cause that’s shorts weather. But I’m kicking it into high gear this week. I haven’t really gained any weight in the past 9-10 days of not working out. Maybe a pound or two and it’s mostly in my tummy which I (fortunately!) don’t have too much trouble losing. So my plan is to do Jillian Michaels’ 30 day Shred is the morning before work, and then a good workout of cardio and weights after work just like normal. I do still need to keep the house cleaned up for our house sitter and I’ll need to run a few laods of laundry and pack. All of our food’s made for the week already but I’ll be plenty busy anyway.

 

Speaking of food for the week…

 

This week I really wanted to focus on clean eating and eating mostly produce and lean meats. I knew this would give me the energy I need to get through a little extra working out this week and eating cleaner will combat that belly fat quicker than anything else I could eat. So here’s the plan for the week:

Breakfast: Cranberry Chocolate Oatmeal (I’ve already tried this and it’s good, but I’d use half as much water)

From Clean Eating Chelsey

 

Lunch/Dinner:

Linguine with Carrots and Turkey Ragu

Photo from Good House Keeping

 

Steak and Chicken Stir Fry with Cauliflower “Rice” (I tried this already too. I will never eat real rice again!)

 

From Undressed Skeleton

 

Honey Mustard Pretzel Chicken with Steamed Broccoli. ( Had this too; if you make it, make sure the pretzels are crushed finely of they won’t stick. And cut the dressing in half. It’s really high in calories!)

From A Happy and Healthy Whirlwind of a Life

 

So what are you cooking this week? Any leads on some creative, flexible type part time jobs?

 

 

 

 

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

