29/20

A few things on my mind tonight…

I maintained my weight loss this week! It sounds crazy to get excited about that, but I started off the week by eating over 1,2oo calories in puppy chow on Saturday night. Plus the salami cream cheese pinwheels on crackers, cheese ball cheese on crackers, chili no bean dip with chips, and Oreo balls. I began with such a massive overage in calories that even by the end of the week I was still only up to a total deficit of 5,250 calories, 85% of my goal for the week. Yikes! Needless to say, I am not to be trusted with appetizery junk foods. I’m relieved that I didn’t gain! I’m still 8 lbs down, and 4 lbs to go. 4 lbs, 3 weeks. It’s still doable but boy is it crunch time!

My gut is unhappy. I won’t go into too much detail, but despite my consuming mostly healthy (fresh produce, lean meats, beans and nuts, whole grains) foods my tummy is not doing so great. My body just isn’t digesting food regularly. I’m not quite sure to do about it… I’m probably going to give it another week so see if things get back to normal, but I’d still love to hear any suggestions you may have. Especially anything that wouldn’t include cutting out any foods.

Last night’s workout was probably not a great idea. I decided to run 10 miles. I just needed to know if I could still do it. Well, I can’t exactly. It wasn’t terrible. I set the treadmill to 6mph and was okay for the first hour (6 miles), but the treadmill only goes up to 60 minutes so when I restarted it I took a bathroom break too. I really had trouble getting back into it. I had to stop and walk for 1/4 of a mile only 1/2 a mile in. When I started running again, I couldn’t keep up with 6mph and cut the speed down to 5.8mph. Not slow by any means, but slower than normal for me. And I was only on mile 7; I know I’m more than capable of running 7 miles. So then my hip started hurting. I ran to 2 miles then walked again for another 1/4 mile. I thought about giving up at 9 miles, but I’m stubborn and determined and wanted to do the full 10 I set out to do. I bumped the speed up to 6mph to finish off mile 9, then increased the speed .1mph for each .1 mile I ran in mile 10. My hip actually felt better running faster! I ended up finishing the full 10 miles (at a .5% incline) in 1 hour, 43 minutes. That’s actually pretty close to what I’d run outside in the middle of my half marathon training, so overall not bad. Plus, 1037 calories burned! Win!

Yoga. I love me some yoga. I am SUPER uncoordinated but for some reason I’m pretty decent at yoga. The slow movements and deep breathing must help somehow. So my running group was supposed to meet again this morning for yoga (I think we’re on polar vortex 4 or 5 now? No outside running, thank you!), but when I got there, they were being taught kick boxing. I tried, I really did. But when the instructor lost me 3 minutes in, while everyone else was getting it, I decided I just couldn’t. It wasn’t going to be a good workout for me if I was standing there trying to figure out what I was doing half the time. I left, and I was actually pretty upset. All of this workout, building strength, building confidence, and yet I still can’t follow a simple kick boxing workout?? So frustrating. I was also frustrated that I woke up at 6:45 on a Saturday morning, drove almost a half hour on unplowed roads in the snow to get to my church, and then I couldn’t even participate. Well, I stopped at the library on my way home and checked out 3 yoga DVD’s. Problem solved! I get to keep them for 2 weeks, so I should have plenty of time to try them all out.

Today’s cheat meal was great! I do much better calorie wise with cheat meals than snacks! I went wedding dress shopping for my sister with my mom, my niece, and my sister’s best friend. If was so fun and she found the dress! After shopping we went to Round the Clock, a cozy little diner. We all pretty much had the chicken parmesan panini with fries (and ranch), lemon rice soup, and chocolate peanut butter cream pie. I know, it sounds like a lot. I only ate about half of it. It was probably a splurge of 1500 calories, but I had a 256 calorie breakfast and will have a 313 calorie dinner tonight putting me only 569 calories of my 1500 calorie per day goal. (As opposed to last week’s 1700 calories over!) It’s a good start to a new week!

How was your week? Any weight losers out there? My sister is doing a combo of a low calorie and paleo diet and has lost 12 lbs in the last month! Anyone else have luck with the paleo diet and have some tips or recipes to share?

(No pictures again. Sorry. Got lazy.)

4 comments

  1. Hi Megan! 10 miles, wow!!! I actually dreamed about running last night, on the beach. It was heavenly! Too bad it was only a dream. You are incredible doing that many miles on a treadmill and at a great pace. About this morning, I knew you were frustrated and I’m so sorry you were. I know it wasn’t what was planned but it did seemed to go well in the end. My glutes are screaming tonight. Just jumping around like a boxer really worked out my legs and glutes. The last 15 minutes was all abs and brutal! I am SO glad you solved the problem by getting the yoga DVDs. You are simply amazing with your meal planning, diligent workouts and just your overall willpower. I admire you so much! Keep up the great work and I hope to see you at the Jeff Klein event next Saturday morning. We are meeting at Round the Clock in Schererville at 7:15-ish. Blessings to you, my friend! ~Mary

    1. I totally missed that I had unapproved comments – thanks for the encouragement! Running 10 on the beach would be so amazing right now. I’m looking forward to doing just that in San Diego! And honestly, the only way I get that many miles in on the treadmill is because I’m watching movies on my phone! There’s no way I’d be able to otherwise. Can’t wait til this weather breaks and running group can be running group again!

  2. Great job Megan! Try taking a probiotic digestive enzyme tablet once a day along with a stool softener for your digestive issues. I try and keep a low carb high protein diet and this helps me. Good luck!!

    1. Hi Jennifer! Thanks for stopping by! Sorry I didn’t see this comment earlier. I’ve been eating Activia yogurt every once in a while the past few weeks and that’s really helped. And I’m looking forward to experimenting a little bit with my diet after vacation. Lower carb for sure!

Leave a Reply

