19/14

Tonight I did something I thought I never could possibly in my entire lifetime do – I ran as fast as an elite runner. Granted it was only for 30 seconds at a time, and it was on a treadmill, but I didn’t come anywhere near falling off or feeling out of control and I even had the incline set to 1%. 6 minute mile pace. Such a rush! The workout I chose tonight was fantastic for speed work. I’m definitely going to pull this one out again. I didn’t adjust anything, except I set the incline to 1% for the whole duration of my workout. I walked for 2 minutes to warm up, then ran 8 at 6mph, I repeated the workout 5 times, then cooled down with 5 minutes at 6mph and 5 minutes of walking at 3.5 with no incline.

After my little running adventure, I did some abs. Not only did my run make me feel like a rockstar, but I did 2 sets one 1 minute planks! I wasn’t completely drained when I got home even, so I vaccuumed the entire house – another 35 calories burned. Nice!

Eating today was going great until I learned that ground pork is way higher in calories than ground chicken. You see, Meijer was out of ground chicken (go figure, do they ever have everything I need in stock??) so I got ground pork instead because it was on sale and because it’s “the other white meat”. I figure it’s calorie content would be comparable to ground chicken. Um, no. Not even close. 4 oz has almost twice as many calories, 297 compare to 160 in ground chicken. I ended up eating 3/4 of my Buffalo Meatloaf and all of my green beans, and I  was satisfied. Still, it is so hard to leave a good portion of your food uneaten when you’re not stuffed and it tastes good. It’s okay though, the best part of my “diet” is that I have dessert literally every night. Usually 75-80 calories of protein and 100-150 calories of something sweet. I can skip over-sized portions and junk food all day because I know I’ll end my night with dessert.

I’d love to get some conversation going here or on Facebook – how do you stay on track when watching what you eat? Anyone have any other good workouts for speed training?

Leave a Reply

