18/12-13

Two more workouts done! I cannot believe I’m still on track. Having a plan, some specific goals, and taking it day by day has really worked for me this time. My goals are simple:

  • Workout 5 days a week for 7 weeks.
  • Maintain a weekly calorie deficit of 5,950 calories per week.
  • Eat my pre-planned meals and snacks each day to avoid binge eating.
  • Lose 12 lbs (7 more to go) by our vacation.

The plan is something like pick out healthy meals, make healthy meals, eat healthy meals and snacks, don’t binge eat, make every workout worthwhile, be happy with progress of any kind. Each day is just a set of decisions I have to make to keep myself headed in the right direction. Do I stop at Target to pick up a bag of candy to eat while we watch a movie? Nope, we have dark chocolate chips and cherries at home. Do I skip tonight’s workout and do a double on Saturday? Been there, done that, doubles aren’t fun! Do I go to the gym and get by doing just the bare minimum? I can do better than that. Do I get to bed on time so my morning, and therefore my day, seems less rushed and crazy? Yes, even though Allegiant is just getting good. Skip my afternoon snack so I can have more dessert later? I need that energy fore my workout, and I need to eat less sugar. Just a series of decisions!

So yesterday, I decided to eat my normal healthy meals, and I went to the gym after work. I ran on the treadmill for about an hour total and completed another treadmill workout. This time it was the Hitting the Slopes 2 workout. I ran the first one a couple weeks ago and it was brutal. I had no idea I was so out of shape. This one looks like it was maybe a little easier, but I didn’t adjust it at all. I had a much easier time completing it than the first one;  I stopped once for a minute and a second time for 30 seconds. I just couldn’t catch my breath! I can tell I’m getting stronger though and I’m excited to try some of these workouts again and see how easy they’ve become.

Tonight, I couldn’t fathom running. Even if yesterday’s workout was a little easier, I was still dripping sweat and exhausted by the end of it. So I decided to do some weights, because I was finally feeling not quite so sore, and then I went for a swim. Swimming in winter is really kind of fun. And it’s a great way to burn some calories while giving some sore muscle and joints a break. I burned about 200 calories in just a half hour. Altogether I probably only burned 280 calories tonight, but I gained muscle (which burns fat even when your body is at rest), and was able to give myself a break from running while still getting a good workout in.

How’s your week of workouts going? What to you turn to to switch things up?

Leave a Reply

