15/10-11

It’s been a while. I’m sorry. Thursday was one of the worst days I’ve had in a long time. I got yelled at (literally) by my boss and received 2 write up for forgetting to make 2 phone calls. He crushed my spirit and I didn’t have then enegry to workout or write. Friday was a bit better, but it was date night so I missed my workout and writing once again. Today though, I totally made up for all of that. I spent over 2 hours at the gym and here I am updating!

My workout today was a twofer. I ran 6 miles on the treadmill, switching off between a 1/2% and 1% incline and then dropping to a 0% incline on the last mile but increasing the speed by .1 mph for every tenth of a mile. Today I dedicated my 6 miles to Meg’s Miles, a virtual running event to honor the life of Meg Cross Menzies and raise awareness for safety for runners on the road. If you haven’t heard, Monday morning this week, Meg was out for a morning run. It was light out, she was on a 2 foot wide shoulder running toward traffic. She did everything right. A drunk driver swerved off the road and killed her. So today I ran 6 miles for her. I spent a little time praying for her family and friends and that this would finally be a time for awareness to be raised for the safety of runners out on roads in every neighborhood. Please friends, be conscious of pedestrians while driving!

Anyway, after my 6 mile run, I went to LA’s Body Works Plus Abs class (finally! I’ve been trying to make it for weeks!). It was okay. They ran out of 5lb weights so I had to hold two 2.5 lb weights and it was a little hard to hold onto them; not too heavy, my thumb just hurt from hold two handles instead of one. The upper boy workout would’ve been great though with the right weights. The ab portion was fantastic. I didn’t feel like there was much of a lower body workout and I ended up skipping the cool down and spent 10 minutes on a few lower body weight machines. I  wrapped it all up with 10 minutes on the elliptical. 914 calories burned total! I considered half those calories workout 10 and half workout 11. So I’m still on track.

My eating on the other hand – not on track at all. Thursday I was upset and only had my three meals, no snacks. and only 4 glasses of water. Friday I did well all day until I skipped half of my afternoon snack and went out for dinner with my husband. We went to a Mexican restaurant and I had tons of chips and salsa, 1 1/2 small chicken quesadillas, and hald of the refried beans and rice. Oh, plus some sour cream and guacamole. I was stuffed. ANd then I went home and had 800 calories of York peppermint patties. I felt sick to my stomach. I hope never to do that again! All in all I’m going to guess it was an extra 2,200 calories. Yikes! I was to hungry from not eating enough Thursday. Luckily I was still full today from eating too much last night too. I only had lunch, a 100 calorie snack, a MUCH smaller portion of last night’s dinner, and dessert. Right about 1,000 calories for today. Tomorrow I get back on track!

Oh, and my weight. Yesterday I weighed in at the exact weight I was last Friday. I was a little bummed. But I didn’t gain anything and my clothes are much looser so I know I’m still on track. Actually today at the grocery store, someone noticed my Polar Dash fleece and asked if I ran the 14 mile course last Saturday – she was surprised that I ran the 10k cause I looked like I was in good running shape! And then an older couple by the check out said I looked skinny and like I’d be a fast runner (this came from out of nowhere, seriously!) and then said I was really strong to pick fit all my groceries into 2 bags and then carry them out to the car one on each shoulder. And honestly, I am pretty strong to be able to do that. I wouldn’t have been able to do that a few weeks ago. I’m still proud of the progress I’ve made and excited to see what the next 5 weeks holds!

(Sorry for the lack of pictures today….)

How was your Saturday workout? Anyone else run for Meg?

Leave a Reply

